Graeme has coffee at the start and the end.

In an act of near unprecedented industriousness, I got up this morning at 8.30; on a Saturday. I’m sure I could have done with more sleep but I was gripped with the urge to finish reading John Dies at the End, which still had a few pages left.

Ever since I was a child I’ve avoided finishing a book just before bed. (I’m fairly sure this is largely due to an unfortunate incident involving the last day of the school summer holidays, the final novel in Anne McCaffery’s Pern series and a long sleepless night of pondering and moribund disconsolation) so I had left over some fragment of the story till today.

It’s a good book, probably the first since Terry Pratchett’s Small Gods that actually made me guffaw whilst reading, every few pages. What’s more it eschews the traditions of most adventure stories by having the heroes show an almost Thomas Covenant degree of disdain for the events around them.

Someone asked me to describe it recently and its fair to likened it to a cross between Clerks and Constantine. Or more simply put, its everything Dogma wanted to be but without the pervasive Catholic guilt riddling the story.

If I needed to grumble about anything it would be that the ending drags out in a fragmented fashion a bit like the extended cut of the film Return of the King.

In any case, I’m sure it’ll benefit from the movie adaptation due out next spring, the trailer looks hopeful, albeit with some understandable deviations from the text, some due to practicality and budgetary constraints.

, ,

  1. #1 by Rachel on February 18, 2012 - 4:47 pm

    So that’s a recommendation on John Dies At The End, then?

  2. #2 by Doomed Humanity on May 14, 2012 - 8:05 pm

    TheReviewist
    19 January 2011 2:56PM

    Quote:
    “Treating animals ‘well’ before killing and eating them is not ‘the cause’ though is it?
    It’s surely to stop killing and eating animals. Isn’t it?”

    Your highly intelligent “reply”:

    What do you think happens to the animals once we stop wanting them for food? Do you think we’re going to give them the fields to live in as nature intended? These thoroughly domesticated farm animals? Of course not.

    So is your contention that it’s ok because less will be born later, but the ones that are will be born free….. The ceasing of breeding animals for meat would lead to the extermination of probably 95% of the livestock. At least they live good cared for lives in the farms Woginrich would have us buy from.

    I eat beef so that cows may live….

    (Yeah, so I just found your comment, above, on the Guardian website. Quickly stopping in to tell you how much of a fucking idiot you are. Well, tata.)

    • #3 by The Reviewist on June 1, 2012 - 10:57 am

      Doomed Humanity eh?
      Normally I’d consign a comment such as this to the wastebin of eternity for its lack of any sensible contribution to anything, not to mention its trolling nature and tangental randomness.

      However as an example of what not to do, it’s quite fitting. I welcome the challenging of my views and what you’ve done here is potentially a good idea. Had this been a comment opening up the discussion of my point from a now long-closed Guardian thread, then the debate could have continued and I could elaborate on my quasi-facetious comment.

      Sadly instead of contending with my comment you’ve left an insult which leaves anyone reading it in utter ambiguity as to what you disagree with, and what aspect you take issue toward. Instead just a bare and unimaginative insult.

      Try harder.

Leave a Reply

